International Award

The world’s leading achievement award

Since its launch over 60 years ago, the Award has inspired millions of young people to transform their lives. Through non formal education, the Award can play a critical role in a young person’s personal development and is achievable by any of our students (from Yr10) who want to take up the challenge.

What is the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award?

The Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award (DOE-IA) is available to all 14-24 year olds and is the world’s leading youth achievement award. It equips young people for life regardless of their background, culture, physical ability, skills and interests. Doing the Award is a personal challenge and not a competition against others; it pushes young people to their personal limits and recognises their achievements.

What does the Duke of Edinburgh’s International Award look like?

The Award is comprised of three levels and four sections. Participants complete all four sections (Physical, Skill, Service and Adventurous Journey) at each level in order to achieve their Award. At Gold level, participants also complete a Residential Project.

The first of many…

At ISP, the Duke of Edinburgh’s Bronze Award was launched in January 2016 with participants taking on the challenge by logging their progress in a variety of activities, ranging from Student Led CCAs, learning magic tricks, completing the KL Standard Chartered 10km road race and learning about health and safety at a local firm. Each of these activities meets the criteria for three of the different sections of the DOE-IA (Service, Skills and Physical), and enriches the learning of the participants far beyond the curriculum.

Strong individually, unstoppable together

Further to these three sections, in March and April 2017, 36 participants completed their Practice and Qualifying Adventurous Journeys. This involved trekking for 12-14 hours over two days with an overnight camp and outdoor cooking in Hulu Langat and Fraser’s Hill. The physical demands and teamwork required to complete this journey was a new experience for many of our participants and a real achievement for all.

What do the levels look like?


Students need to be over 16 years old to go for Gold. Our Year 12 students must demonstrate extended commitment in Service, Skill and Physical Recreation for a minimum of 12 months. An additional 6 months on a section of choice is required for Direct Entrants. The Adventurous Journey takes place over 4 days and 3 nights with an additional Residential Project for 5 days and 4 nights. This level takes a minimum of 12 months to achieve for Silver Award Holders (or 18 months for new entrants).


At ISP we offer this at the start of Term 3 in Year 10. The Silver Award requires participants to demonstrate consistent commitment in Service, Skill and Physical Recreation for a minimum of 6 months (with an additional 6 months on a section of choice for Direct Entrants). The Adventurous Journey lasts for 3 days and 2 nights. It takes a minimum of 6 months to achieve the Silver level for those who are Bronze Award Holders or 12 months for those who go directly into Silver.


This level is designed for students over 14 years old, so at ISP we offer it at the start of Year 10. There is an expectation that participants demonstrate an ongoing and consistent commitment in Service, Skill and Physical Recreation for a minimum of 3 months. They must also select one of these sections to pursue for an additional 3 months. The Adventurous Journey or Expedition lasts for 2 days and 1 night. The Bronze level takes a minimum of 6 months to complete.

What do the sections look like?


The Service section of the Award encourages young people to volunteer their time to and understand the benefits of this service to their community.

Physical Recreation

The Physical Recreation section of the Award encourages young people to participate in sport and other physical recreation for the improvement of health and fitness.

Adventurous Journey

The Adventurous Journey section encourages a sense of adventure whilst undertaking a team journey or expedition. As part of a small team, participants will plan, train for and undertake a journey with a defined purpose in an unfamiliar setting environment.


The Skills section of the Award encourages the development of personal interests and practical and social skills.